3 July 2015

June Reads 2015


You might have noticed that I skipped May in this 'reads of the month' series.  The reason being that I didn't finish a book, not one book all month!  I started reading Sophie's World at the end of the April and didn't finish it until the second week in June.  I'm not sure why it took me this long but it did, I went through one of those phases where I was too distracted by other things to read.  I finished 3 books this month so some improvement although I'm still behind my usual self.  I totally forgot to photograph one of the books which I am blaming on me attempting to be social for a change this week which means I haven't had much sleep!

Sophie's World by Jostein Gaarder

One day fourteen-year-old Sophie Amundsen comes home from school to find in her mailbox two notes, with one question on each: “Who are you?” and “Where does the world come from?” From that irresistible beginning, Sophie becomes obsessed with questions that take her far beyond what she knows of her Norwegian village. Through those letters, she enrolls in a kind of correspondence course, covering Socrates to Sartre, with a mysterious philosopher, while receiving letters addressed to another girl. Who is Hilde? And why does her mail keep turning up? To unravel this riddle, Sophie must use the philosophy she is learning—but the truth turns out to be far more complicated than she could have imagined
I have had this book on my shelf for ages and just havn't got around to reading it, before that it was one of those books I've wanted to read for the longest time but never actually bought.  I read another fictional title by the same author last year and lved it and I havn't studied philosophy since collage so i thought it was finally time to bite the bullet and get stuck in.

I have no idea why this scared me so much as I already understood a lot of the philosophers discussed already and it can be read by children.  Once I got started it was really easy to understand and get stuck into, it was a really great way to remind myself of all the stuff I hadn't looked at since college.  The story linking it all together was really great at first, however towards the end it grated on me.  The characters were nice enough but a bit unbelievable and when the story took over towards the end I was kind of done with them.
4/5

Forty Years On by Alan Bennett

lan Bennett stars in a new production of his own acclaimed satrical comedy, thirty years after its original West End debut. The Headmaster has been at Albion House for fifty years, man and boy. Now he is retiring and takes part in the end-of-year entertainment for the last time. Entitled "Speak For England, Arthur", it weaves together a multi-generational story of England: the glorious era at the turn of the century, when the summers were always golden; the fast-living inter-war years peopled by the Bloomsbury Group; and the growing cynicism of a country going to war twice in so many decades. Tongue-in-cheek, the play-within-a-play prompts an outraged response from the Headmaster, who can only see his beloved standards being mocked. Yet within the parody lies an almost-painful nostalgia for a more peaceful age and the timeless misunderstanding of one generation by another. Clever, funny and poignant, Alan Bennett's masterful play is rightly regarded as a modern classic.

Unfortunately I don't have much to say about this short play.  I am a big Bennett fan but I just found this really disappointing, possibly the worst work of his I have read.  It wasn't necessarily terrible but it was definatly one of those plays that doesn't translate well in pure text form.  I thought the concept of a play within a school play is pretty over done and this didn't really add anything new so I found it a rather dull, but it did have it's moments.
3/5

I'll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

From the author of The Sky Is Every­where, a radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying - all at once. For fans of John Green, Gayle Forman and Lauren Oliver. Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close - until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don't realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.

I only posted a full review of this only this week so I won't write it all out again but in short, I really enjoyed this.  Check out my full review here.

4/5

What have you been reading this month?  If you are looking for options don't forget you can follow me on Goodreads.
SHARE:
Blogger Template Created by pipdig